As of November 25, 2011, nationals of the following countries who are travelling as a tourist, for pleasure, or to visit friends and relatives have the option to purchase a tourist card or apply for a visa:

  1. The Netherlands
  2. France
  3. United States of America
  4. Bolivia
  5. Chile
  6. Paraguay
  7. Peru
  8. Uruguay
  9. Venezuela
  10. Canada

The tourist card is short term, single entry and expires after 90 days. It must be purchased from the embassy before the intended travel to Suriname.


  1. Money Order for $25.00 (U.S.) payable to the Embassy of the Republic of Suriname
  2. Physical Passport valid for 6 months from date of entry and computer generated itinerary and/or copy of return ticket.
  3. Self-addressed stamped envelope for return mail.
  4. No personal check will be accepted.

Citizens of the aforementioned countries who would like to apply for a multiple entry tourist visa have to comply with the regular visa requirements procedure.

For some other reasons than tourism, travelers who will visit Suriname to negotiate business, attend conferences, training or make an exploratory business visit will have to apply for a business visa prior to arrival in Suriname and must complete the business visa requirements.

Copyright © 2002- Embassy of the Republic of Suriname & GlobeScope, Inc.